I finally purchased my Alpacka Raft (packraft) and had to give it a go.


I tend to like to start my day off brewing some coffee or Yerba Mate and watch youtube or vimeo adventure videos and since I had purchased a fatbike, I punched in Fatbike keywords a lot so I came across this vid

Lost Coast Fat Bike and Packraft: Pedal, Paddle, and Push 

which had triggered a new want list. 2 years later I saved the cash to make this purchase. less then a week later the UPS man dropped the box off at my door step. I became very giddy and excited to try this new toy. I had to wait another week because I didn’t think about how I was going to carry this item. So I pulled the trigger on a Revelate Designs Harness which I also wanted for bikepacking. It was time to give it a go all my items where here. I packed my dakine hydration pack with a coffee making kit a Sculpin Pale Ale and a couple PBnJ sandwiches in case I was going to have a long day.

The day started off cool like it was going to snow so I was dressed in my merino wool and my bike riding fleece jacket and stopped by Basecamp cafe for breakfast

Breakfast at Basecamp Cafe

Breakfast at Basecamp Cafe

After a full belly I was nice and warm and ready to ride. I started on the bike path thru Aspen trees.

Aspen Trees bike Path Ride

Aspen Trees bike Path Ride

After riding down a 4 mile gravel road I had to make a few adjustments with the raft and paddle. My paddle was the Manta Ray Carbon paddle 4 piece. Once down the 4 mile gravel road I hit a mile of nice single track with some brush I was rubbing the brush with my paddle. I only had the paddle broken down in two pieces. After riding along I realized if I broke the paddle down in 4 pieces I would be okay. I was learning as I went along I could stuff the shaft part of the paddle inside the stock Alpacka Raft bag and the paddle piece would stay fine wrapped in the harness.

Singletrack underneath hwy 395

Singletrack underneath hwy 395

Now that I got the kinks out I was rolling great. I was looking forward to getting to the hot springs and brewing some coffee and enjoying the surroundings. I stopped had a look back at Mammoth Mountain to realize how far I had ridden. Then I kept riding.

A look back on Hot Creek Road

A look back on Hot Creek Road

I made a stop at Hot Creek the Turquoise Pools reminded me of Yellowstone National Park.

Hot Creek Pools

Hot Creek Pools

I was off to a hot spring that where safe to soak in.

brewing Coffee At a hot spring

brewing Coffee At a hot spring

After an 18 mile bike ride I reached a fav hot spring. I broke out my coffee kit and began to brew some nectar of the gods.

While waiting for the coffee to brew I took in the 360 views and relaxed as the warm water soothed the muscles. After sipping on the coffee the sun started to warm up. I packed up the coffee kit and pedaled on thru a cow made singletrack thru a meadow.

Cattle made singletrack

Cattle made singletrack

About 3 miles more I reached the river bank of the Upper Owens River near Browns Campground a popular place for Anglers during fishing season.

Once I set my packraft up I reached in my hydration pack in pulled out a Sculpin Pale Ale, Sat on my boat and enjoyed once again the views of the Eastern Sierra, Glass Mountains and White Mountains.

Alpacka Raft on the river bank

Alpacka Raft on the river bank

The weather warmed up to about 60F degrees. When I left my house it was 30F degrees. I was happy it had warmed up because the river was running low due to are California Drought lowest snowfall on record since they where keeping track in 1895. I had to get out of the boat a couple times because I was getting beached and I was getting wet.

Getting Beached

Getting Beached

I did not order my Packraft with a Spray Deck so I will be sending it back in the future to have one installed.

I floated down the river almost 3 miles picking my way thru the deeper part of the river I did drag a few times and was impressed with the durability of the raft and liked how I was able to tie down the bike and pack to the raft and float down the river. Once I reached my out and rolled the raft up and packed down on the harness I figured out even a better way to pack it on the bike. I was getting hungry pulled out a PBnJ sandwich put on my jacket and headed 20 miles back to home.

The Map of my adventure

The Map of my adventure

Here is a 3 minute edit of the trip.

https://www.strava.com/activities/269444504 

This entry was posted in Paddle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I finally purchased my Alpacka Raft (packraft) and had to give it a go.

Leave a comment