June Lake Signature Single-Track Yost Trail


The Snow is flying….Fatbike is wanting to transform to snowbike getting giddy but I am wanting to ride somewhere different then Mammoth. I have been wanting to ride the Yost Trail kinda heard about it and figured out where to start from Mountain biking Mammoth & the Eastern Sierra guide book.

So I asked John if he wanted to check it out he said yes. I dressed up and my cross country ski kit, hopped in the car grabbed John and drove to the trailhead.

The parking starts across from the rock stack and fire station.

across from the June Rock Stack using an older photo for reference.

across from the June Rock Stack using an older photo for reference.

Parked at the trail-head.

Parked cars at the trailhead.

Parked cars at the trail-head.

Throw on my cycling shoes gloves and helmet.

Pedal to the start of the trailhead

Yost Trail-Head

Yost Trail-Head

Oh $hit this is steep its granny time.

Granney Gearing it.

Granny Gearing it.

Huffing and puffing and come up to a bit steeper section hummm I might hike bike this section.

Steep Hike-A-Bike

Steep Hike-A-Bike

Wow the snow is really sticking freaking awesome. I like seeing my tracks in the snow.. Granny gear some more. Oh and hike a bike some more but its snowing its fun.

The Elevation is climbing quick.

Great view of June Lake

Great view of June Lake

I look over and kinda amazing view of the lake there is a fog over the lake. Wow look at the town of June.

Looking over the town of June

Looking over the town of June

After about a 1.3 miles of hard core climbing we hit an Aspen grove their leaves are gone I think there ready for ski season also.

Aspen Grove with the leaves fallen off.

Aspen Grove with the leaves fallen off.

I want to say it starts to flatten out a bit but the trail is easier to ride compared to what we just climbed there is a couple inches of pow on the ground now. epic!!!!!

Hitting the Little Valley part of the Yost Trail.

Hitting the Little Valley part of the Yost Trail.

Where riding thru this small valley of Aspens and Pines for about another mile then it opens to a June Mountain Ski run.

Arriving to June Mountain Ski Area

Arriving to June Mountain Ski Area

There is to much snow to define the trail. There should be another 1.4 miles of single-track before we hit the wilderness sign and have to go back. We rode around to find the trail no luck so we decided we would come back to fine the traverse when the snow resided. Riding back I thought, pretty cool seeing or tracks in the snow. I was having such a good time thru the rolling flat sections. The steeper trail I was looking forward to was not so fun my brakes gave out. They warn down so I had to pretty much hike the trail down not that excited about that. I did try to ride it but I was picking up way to much speed and had no bail out spots.

I am going to come back and revisited this trail soon unless the snow gets to deep.

After you try this trail hit up the new June Lake Brewery  great beer.

Yost Trail Map

Yost Trail Map

Elevation Scale

Elevation Scale

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Trail Storys and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

