The First Attempt for The White Mountain Peak


I decided Last minute to try and go after work, camp then try to summit by bike.
I got off work at 11:30pm and drove to the local store to grab some items.
then I made the drive to the Grandview Campground about 2am I made it.

White Mountain Peak from Mammoth Lakes, CA

White Mountain Peak from Mammoth Lakes, CA

Bloody Hell the campground was full turned out popular night for stargazing. So I drove around and found a pullout setup camp. I was passed out by guessing 2:30am. I wanted to be up by 7ish. That did not happen woke up around 8:40. broke camp.

White Mountain Peak from Mammoth Lakes, CA

Schulman Grove Visitor Center Dirt Road Start

I started my drive I thought I was close to the start. I still had about 6 miles to go of Pavement.
Then I had a 16 mile dirt road to the locked gate.

Start of Dirt Road

Start of Dirt Road

Here is also the oldest trees on earth the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest

Driving thru the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest

Driving thru the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest

Driving along the Ridge you have views of the Palisades Glacier.

Palisades Glacier

Palisades Glacier

The Drive ahead

The Gravel Road ahead

The Gravel Road ahead

Driving along you drive thru another Bristlecone Forest The Patriarch Grove

Patriarch Grove

Patriarch Grove

Patriarch Grove

Patriarch Grove

There was some kinda of feature here.

A Weather Shelter

A Weather Shelter

Once driving 45 minutes on this dirt road I reached the locked gate.

The Locked Gate

The Locked Gate

Nature was calling lucky for me there was some TP but suggesting you bring your own TP just in case Nature calls.

Outhouse Knowledge

Outhouse Knowledge

It was time to try and make this ride. but first let me take a selfie.

 

Seflie at the Locked Gate

Seflie at the Locked Gate

After riding Two Miles of nice steep gravel road I reached the Barcroft Facility. Had a chat with some people that maintained the place. I was behind more time. I was silly thinking I could make the top then be back to work by 3pm. but I wanted to try.

Barcroft Facility.

Barcroft Facility.

After the Barcroft Facility the trail turned to a rocky double track.

Double Track at 12000+ft.

Double Track at 12000+ft.

Riding along there where many Marmots.

There where a few other people out on the trail. passing hikers I slowed down and greeted them and kept riding. I could not get over the fact I was mountain biking at this elevation. I had to stop and enjoy the view.

Panorama of the Grand Sierra and Owens Valley

Panorama of the Grand Sierra and Owens Valley

I was getting closer but running out of time to make it.

The Top was getting closer

The Top was getting closer

And Closer

And Closer

I got to the start of the Switchbacks but I knew I was not going to make it. I knew I had to turn around. I was bummed I couldn’t make it but it was a great scout mission.

Heading back to the car.

Heading back to the car.

http://windinmyface.com/index_topics.html#WhiteMountainPeakChallenge

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Trail Storys and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The First Attempt for The White Mountain Peak

  1. amymarie68 says:

    Hey there, So do you go by Eric or Hunter? I am pretty sure I introduced you to my husband at the Saturday VCs as Eric, but I think I remember others calling you Hunter on the Owen gorge ride. Anyway, just thought I would share our blog post from when we did White Mountain. However I do not know how to supply you with a direct link to the post, rather just our blog site and then you can type in white Mountains in the search bar to get to the post. See you around, Amy

    >

Leave a Reply

