It was suppose to be about the Salsa Bucksaw Demo but it became about the Tahoe XC ride.


I was so so excited to Demo the Salsa Bucksaw a full suspension fatbike. There is just something about riding a fatbike. So when I heard there was a Salsa demo day on brag book as a friend calls it haha kinda true maybe lol at Tahoe XC center I was super excited because I love my fatbike with my 11nine front suspension This guy had to try it.

So I made the drive to Tahoe City, CA (in Lake Tahoe Basin) from Mammoth Lakes, CA it was raining and I was like GEE I hope this demo day does not get cancelled due to the rain.

Driving up, all i could think about was the bike. I was not thinking it was going to be that great a place to ride it a cross country ski place in the winter. So after 3 and half hours driving.

Tunnel Cafe

Tunnel Creek Cafe

I wanted to stop for coffee it was coffee weather right. So I stopped at the Tunnel Creek Cafe then I saw they had a shuttle for Tahoes famed Flume Trail. so I thought I would just make an overnighter out of this trip and made a reservation for the shuttle for the next day. Ok with coffee in hand it was 12:30pm the demo starts at 1pm I was about 20 minutes away.

so after the scenic drive of the shoreline of Lake Tahoe I pulled up to Tahoe XC center.

Tahoe XC Center

Tahoe XC Center

Yes I could see the Demo Set Up.

Tahoe XC Center

Tahoe XC Center

OMG look at all the Salsa Bucksaws and Fattys and Carbon Horsethief’s.

The Fatty Corral

The Fatty Corral

I picked the bike I wanted to demo. The Tech dialed the bike to my fittings gave the guy my ID to remind myself it wasn’t my bike haha.

Happy Guy

Happy Guy

After a few pedal strokes I was amazed with how it peddled and thought it was pretty light for what it was.

Tahoe XC start of Trail system

Tahoe XC start of Trail system

The weather was raining pretty good it was so beautiful.

Catching some Carbon Fat demoed riders

Catching some Carbon Fat demoed riders

I started to catch some other riders demoing the Carbon Salsa Beargrease.

Happy Salsa Bucksaw rider

Happy Salsa Bucksaw rider

I wanted to see what this bike could really do I went looking for for some techy singletrack and the Tahoe XC delivered.

Steep Techie Climb no dabs

Steep Techie Climb no dabs

I really started to enjoy this bike. I started to forget that I was demoing the bike and began exploring the trails around here. I thought the terrain was great, beautiful a mix of doubletrack, singletrack and gravel roads here at Tahoe XC Center. The trails here would be great for all levels of mountain biking.

I was able to bash thru rocky terrain without picking a clean line. I was able to climb techie steep terrain without dabbing. probably not your fastest bike but it does allow you to go almost anywhere and enjoy the sport of mountain biking and surrounding views with a fatty smile on your face.

Epic Singletrack Jurassic Park Style

Epic Singletrack Jurassic Park Style

After climbing up I came to a great view of the lake Fogged in.

Tahoe Overlook

Tahoe Overlook

If this was my bike a bagged lunch and maybe a beer would be great with this picnic table.

Burton Creek

Burton Creek

I was so into exploring this area I got a bit lost I came out to Burton Creek State Park. I was told to try and keep it under an hour for demo. I was at an hour. They give you a map but it got soggy.

I was using strava on my phone so I checked out the mapping to see how to get back.

Strava Mapping Feature

Strava Mapping Feature

I got back to the Demo told the guy I was having a blast got a little lost. He said no problem want to try another bike. I said SURREE and smile and tried the Carbon Horsethief.

Carbon Salsa HorseThief

Carbon Salsa HorseThief

Oh this bike is fun also fast. I did a smaller loop of my lost trails went and did the techie parts I did on the Salsa Bucksaw it was faster but not as stable as the Bucksaw.

Great Singletrack

Great Singletrack

I really had a great time with both of these bikes would love them in the stable. and the Trails here I had no idea of riding at the Tahoe XC center.

Ride Map

Ride Map

Elevation Scale

Elevation Scale

http://www.strava.com/activities/175543071

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Trail Storys and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

