MTB Bridgeport, Arroyo Canyon, Bodie, Potato Peak, Mono Lake Vista and a Hot Spring.


There is no amazing singletrack here that I am aware of BUT a big BUT the vistas and stuff around the Bodie Hills are truly a place to see. Bridgeport to me is a pretty cool little town. I wanted to find a ride around this town. I stopped in the Bridgeport Ranger Station – USDA Forest Service one day driving thru and asked if there was any Mountain Biking. The ranger said “NO” and if you ride in wilderness area you will be ticketed. I couldn’t even get a recommendation out of the guy. So I went home and checked google and strava. I knew there had to be somewhere I could ride. Yes there were forest service roads but the one I found was Aurora Canyon which actually is BLM land and Bodie State Park.

OK time to go ride. I made the 50 minute drive to Bridgeport and made a right onto Hwy 182 a very short drive out of the town Bridgeport to Arroyo Canyon went past a neighborhood and an old cemetery. I found this park at the start of the gravel road.

Parking at Baseball Field

Parking at Baseball Field

I parked here and changed into my riding cloths finished coffee and headed into the hills.

Welcome to Bodie Hills

Welcome to Bodie Hills

This sign reassured me I was on the right track. I did load the GPS track on my iPhone using a great simple app GPX reader.

Up the Canyon

Up the Canyon

The ride did not take long to realize you where riding in a canyon.

Fall Colors up Aurora Canyon

Fall Colors up Aurora Canyon

There were groves of Aspens still giving off the amazing fall colors.

Y in the roads.

Y in the roads.

There where a few Y roads on the climb. I checked my Gpx file to make sure I was on track I did not want to end up in the middle of Nevada. I had only a half of water bottle. I wanted to fill up at the park. The park care takers had already shut the water off for the season so the pipes don’t freeze. I was conserving water.

Over looking Mono Lake.

Over looking Mono Lake.

After about 5 miles of riding I could see cinder cones and Mono Lake. The pictures just don’t do justice of the views.

Mono Lake Vista

Mono Lake Vista

As I climbed up I even had better views of Mono Lake. Not a common view of Mono Lake from this view. Here I made a right and stared up at about a 500 yard hike a bike it was to steep for me to climb.

Potato Peak Hike A Bike

Potato Peak Hike A Bike

Here at the top of Potato Peak I was above 10,000 feet. I had stopped many times to catch my breath or something. I looked back I could see the Ghost town of Bodie in the distance. This ride was starting to wear me out. At this point I was thinking quench my thirst and food. I had climbed about 4000 ft and knew it was almost downhill from here WooHoo!!!

Looking Back at Potato Peak at 10236 ft

Looking Back at Potato Peak at 10236 ft

After about a 1 mile, mile and a half I had to look back and get a glimpse of the peak before heading down. I have seen the peak driving thru and doing Mountain Bikes rides at Dunderberg Meadows.

Looking towards the Town of Bridgeport

Looking towards the Town of Bridgeport

I could see the Town of Bridgeport all I could think about is food, drink, and hot springs.

Town of Bridgeport Closer

Town of Bridgeport Closer

I was very close now. I was not worried about thirst anymore. I was just thinking what I was going to order at The Barn burger joint.

OH YES the Ortega Burger.

OH YES the Ortega Burger.

The Ortega Burger filled me up just great at The Burger Barn. Now it was time to rehab the muscles at the Hot Springs.

The Hot Springs not so secret.

The Hot Springs not so secret.

This is one of the most beautiful hot springs I have been to although it wasn’t that warm it was warmer then the air. I stayed in it about 30 minutes.

Strava Map of the Ride

Strava Map of the Ride

Elevation

Elevation

http://www.strava.com/activities/210563817

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Trail Storys and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

