Fatbikes showed up at the Kamikaze Games


Fatbikes showed up at the Kamikaze Games

Last year 2013 the Kamikaze Bike Games decided to add a Fatbike Class. There where two of us who decided to race are fatbikes.

I raced Dual Slalom and Cross Country and another Fatbiker decided to race his SingleSpeed Fatbike in the Enduro for giggles.

Alan Jacoby racing his Single Speed Salsa Mukluk in the Enduro.

Alan Jacoby racing his Single Speed Salsa Mukluk in the Enduro.

I had no competitors in Dual Slalom so I decided to just race in my class and end up winning my class.

fat-bike-dual-slalom

I dual slalom

I also raced my fatbike in the Cross Country and taking third in regular XC race.

So I wanted to get a suspension fork for my Fat-Bike for next summer season of riding because I was dinging my rims running low pressure. I googled fatbike bike suspension forks and found 11|NINE fatbikes out of Las Vegas, NV. Sent them an email and found they where sponsoring a super-D race at Bootleg. I signed up went out to bootleg raced and bought a fork from 11|NINE the Co. was great and talked to them about Mammoth.  11|NINE Fatbikes also makes great full suspension Fatbikes. 11|NINE said they would talk to the promoters to see if we could add a Fatbike class to the OLD SCHOOL grand daddy of downhill the Kamikaze.

“The Mammoth Kamikaze was the most important downhill race from the mid ’80s to the late ’90s.” — Jimmy Deaton

monster fatbike

Monster Girls Like Fatbikes

Woolly Showing his skills on a Fatbike

Woolly Showing his skills on a Fatbike

So here it was Kamikaze Bike Games 2014  went from 2 Fatbikers in 2013 to 8 in 2014 I thought it was pretty exciting.

11|NINE showed up with three different types of fatbikes

(SIMUS – Front Suspension Hard Tail)(Epicyon – Fixed pivot full suspension)(hemicyon – Fixed pivot full suspension Downhill)

Foes Bikes showed up with there full squish

Turner full squish

Specialized Fatboy

and I on my Salsa Mukluk

There was also an Adaptive 3 wheeled Fatbike very cool thought we would see the Boreales Clown Guy or the Salsa Bucksaw but a no-show.

Adaptive 3 wheeled Fatbike

Adaptive 3 wheeled Fatbike

Practice was fast and fun. Racing a hard fatbike bike 50 plus miles an hour reminded me of the old days except wondering how we went so fast with no suspension.

Practice Day on my HardTail Salsa Mukluk

Practice Day on my HardTail Salsa Mukluk

strolling around the pits after practice. I saw the Foes Fatbike.

Foes Fatbike around the pits.

Foes Fatbike around the pits.

The next day it was race time the Kamikaze fast as fu$# had been ruffed up.

Abdaptive 3 wheel racing

Abdaptive 3 wheel racing

I put on my smurf suit for aero-speed.

Smurf Suit for Speed

Smurf Suit for Speed

Epicyon - Fixed pivot full suspensionScreen Shot 2014-11-13 at 12.19.47 AM

Epicyon – Fixed pivot full suspension

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 12.16.38 AM

!!|NINE Fatbike owner getting in on the action.

!!|NINE Fatbike owner getting in on the action.

Turner-King-Kahn-racing-the-kamikaze

Turner King Kahn racing the kamikaze

In the Cross Country a rider from Mountain Bike Action showed up on his Specialized Fatboy.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 12.21.19 AM

radio interview

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Trail Storys and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

