I Global Fat bike Day


December 6th was Global Fatbike Day. I really wanted to join the Tahoe -Reno group for Fatbike day but I had to work at 3pm there was no way I was going to make it make it back in time.

Global Fat Bike Day

Global Fat Bike Day

The people I usually fatbike with where out of down so I went on a solo mission to my favorite winter spring riding area around the Owens Gorge.

I had to start with a hearty favorite diner breakfast at Toms Place (est 1917) to warm me up.

Toms Place (est 1917)

Toms Place (est 1917)

I was good and full and ready to explore for a 3 hour ride of sand, snow and double track.

Tunnel under Highway 395

Tunnel under Highway 395

I started off on a trail that starts behind Toms Place and leads to a tunnel underneath highway 395 and cuts thru the neighborhood of Sunny Slopes. I really like riding this area with my fatbike its ridable on a regular MTB bike but the Fatty floats over the sandy double track with ease.

Starting the trail just past the neighborhood

Starting the trail just past the neighborhood

There was just the right amount of snow to have fun to cold roll.

Looking back taking it in

Looking back taking it in

Riding thru the rolling sandy, snowy, sagebrush meets pine trees you can’t help but get great views of the Grand Sierras.

Looking towards the Grand Eastern Sierra

Looking towards the Grand Eastern Sierra

Heading to the Owens Gorge kinda a secret hidden Gem where its common to see Golden Eagle, Bald Eagles, Falcons, Ospreys and Red Tail Hawks soaring.

Riding to the Owens Gorge

Riding to the Owens Gorge

The highlight of this ride is arriving to one of the look outs and perch on a rock and look with amazement.

Owens Gorge the Owens Valley Grand Canyon

Owens Gorge the Owens Valley Grand Canyon

After enjoying the views of the Gorge it was time to head back to the car. I snaked thru piles of Volcanic Rocks more sandy double jeep track, pines trees, and sage for another 30 minutes of riding.

Heading back to Toms Place to grab a Ginger Ale

Heading back to Toms Place to grab a Ginger Ale

Once back at Toms Place I grabbed a bottle of ginger ale for some sugars and something other then water.

That was a Happy Global Fatbike Day.

Map of Owens Gorge Ride

Map of Owens Gorge Ride

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Trail Storys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

